RCSEd Dental Council and Executive 2023

« View all News items
28 Sep 2023


The RCSEd Dental Council and Executive Board Meeting took place last Friday 22 September, which brought to a close Professor Philip Taylor’s tenure as Dental Dean.

Professor Taylor has made a significant contribution to promoting the Dental Faculty, particularly seeking out opportunities for international expansion.

Professor Grant McIntyre has now taken up his Deanship, and brings a wealth of experience to the role of Dean from his previous involvement with the College as Vice Dean, Dental Council and the Specialty Advisory Board for Orthodontics.

Professor McIntyre is looking forward to the roll-out next year of a new suite of open access Dental Diploma examination qualifications. The new Diplomas are designed for Tier 2 General Dental Practitioners in England and Wales, and have been created to recognise the achievements of GDPs in Scotland and across the Globe.

The Faculty of Dental Surgery is also pleased to welcome the election of the new Vice Dean, Mr William McLaughlin. Will has a vast knowledge of the College, and will bring an exceptional insight of dental politics to support the role an the Dean.


The following three Members also took their seat on Dental Council at the Annual General Meeting:

Professor Lotfy Kelany Abdelfadil Elshoubaky is an Assistant Professor of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery at the College of Dentistry at Misr University of Science and Technology in Egypt. He also heads the Department of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery at Haram Hospital and works as a consultant at Souad Kafafi Hospital in Cairo. He obtained his PhD in Oral and Maxillofacial surgery at Cairo University in 2020 and holds Membership and Fellowship of both the Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh and the Royal College of  Physicians and Surgeons of Glasgow in Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery.

Mr Toby Gillgrass is a Consultant Orthodontist at the Glasgow Dental Hospital and Glasgow Children’s HospitalHe is presently the Clinical Lead for the Cleft Surgical Service for Scotland and Lead for the Orthodontic Group for Cleft Care Scotland. He represents the Cleft Surgical Service for Scotland on the Cleft Development Group, and is part of the Quality Monitoring Improvement Committee for cleft care in the UK. Mr Gillgrass has served two previous terms of Dental Council, he was a former chair and presently serves on the Specialist Advisory Board for Orthodontics. He is a member of Specialist Advisory Committee for orthodontics for the General Dental Council. 

Professor Alison Qualtrough has a Chair at the University of Manchester. She is an Honorary Consultant in Restorative Dentistry within Manchester Foundation Trust with leading education and clinical roles in restorative dentistry and endodontics. She is Chair of the Teachers of Endodontology Group, is on the GDC Specialist Advisory Committee in Restorative Dentistry and sits on the Specialist Advisory Board in Restorative Dentistry. 

A full update on the RCSEd Dental Council and Executive Board can be found here.

back to top of page