Fellows Recognised in Queen’s New Year’s Honours List

« View all News items
14 Jan 2022

Professor Michael Griffin OBE, President of the Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh, comments on The Queen’s New Year’s honours list.

We were very proud to see several of our Fellows recognised in this year’s New Year’s honours list. It is fantastic to see colleagues recognised for the incredible work they are doing in their field and the positive impact they continue to have on our profession and patients.

We were also delighted to see Professor Chris Whitty, Professor Jonathon Van Tam and Dr Gregor Smith awarded knighthoods, and Dr Jenny Harries awarded a damehood. They have all been instrumental in helping navigate the pandemic.

A huge congratulations to:

The Right Honourable Professor Ajay Kumar Lord Kakkar – KBE for services to Healthcare and Public Service

Professor John Leslie Robert Forsythe – OBE for services to Transplant Surgery and Covid-19 (Perth and Kinross)

Professor Iain Leslie Campbell Chapple – MBE for services to Oral and Dental Health

Mr Charles Viva – MBE for services to Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery in the Developing World   

back to top of page