We use cookies to track usage and optimise user experience. By continuing to browse and use the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies.

Awards and Medals

Applications Invited for the Hunter Doig Medal 2017

This silver medal is awarded every second year to a female Fellow or Member of the College who, in the opinion of Council, demonstrates career potential and ambition, along with:

  •          High standards of good surgical practice
  •          Clinical excellence
  •          Ongoing contribution to education and training
  •          Clinically based research and audit
  •          Laboratory research of direct clinical relevance

Applicants may self-nominate or be proposed by a colleague, Board, Committee or other body recognised by the College. Applications must be accompanied by a full CV and supported by three referees, two of which will be surgeons and one which will not be a surgeon. Written references should be submitted at the time of the application.

Applications should be submitted to Mrs Irene MacDonald, PA to the Chief Executive, the Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh, Nicolson Street, Edinburgh, EH8 9DW or by email to i.macdonald@rcsed.ac.uk by Friday 26 May 2017.

Farquharson Award 2017 Accepting Nominations

Offered on a biannual basis, this award is in memory of Eric Farquharson, Surgeon and Fellow of the College who was author of Farquharson’s Textbook of Operative Surgery and previous Vice President of the College.

The Farquharson Award is offered to anyone who has made significant contributions to surgical teaching or surgical anatomy, at either undergraduate or postgraduate level. Traditionally reserved for those who taught at the bedside, in theatre, in the dissecting room or through lectures or textbooks, the award has broadened to incorporate new methods of teaching through simulators, wet laboratories, operative videos and distance learning programmes.

The award is open to surgeons and those in allied professions who have contributed to surgical and anatomy teaching. Recipients do not have to be Fellows or Members of RCSEd or be medically qualified.

The closing date is Friday 26 May 2017. A proforma for the citation can be obtained from Mrs Irene MacDonald i.macdonald@rcsed.ac.uk

Dental Prizes Open for Nominations

Nominations are invited for the awards of the Faculty of Dental Surgery (Home) Medal and the Faculty of Dental Surgery (International) Medal of the RCSEd.

Those submitting nominations for either award should provide clear reasons why the individual should be considered for the award. Each medal may be awarded to dentists or others who have made a distinguished contribution to the Faculty, College and Dentistry.

For more information or to nominate someone, contact Linda Stuart, Dental Administrator: l.stuart@rcsed.ac.uk. The closing date for nominations is 23 January 2017.

King James IV Professorship

King James IV of Scotland, who confirmed this College's Seal of Cause on 13 October 1506, had an interest in all matters scientific, including medicine and surgery, and was particularly proud of his skill as a dental surgeon, adopting the somewhat unusual practise of paying patients on whom he operated.

To mark the Millennium, The Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh, with the Faculty of Dental Surgery, proposed the establishment of lectureships to be awarded annually by the College in open competition to practitioners of surgery or dental surgery who have made a significant contribution to the clinical and/or scientific basis of surgery. Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II gave permission for the College to use the title King James IV Professorship.

Up to five Professorships may be awarded annually - two to Dental Fellows and three to Surgical Fellows of the College. The courtesy title of Professor will be accorded to King James IV Lecturers for the duration of the College year in which their lecture is delivered.

Opening for Applications: TBC February / March 2017

Past recipients of the James IV Professorship. 

The Syme Medal

James Syme (1799-1870) was a leading surgeon of his day and an enthusiastic teacher and surgical innovator. He was also the mentor of Joseph Lister. The Syme Medal is a prestigious mark of excellence awarded by the College to a Fellow or Member of the College in good standing, on the basis of a recently submitted thesis (MD or PhD), or published body of research, or educational development. Research should have been published in high quality peer reviewed journals. Consideration will be given to the impact of the work on future research or clinical practice. The Medal is to be awarded to surgeons in training or recently appointed consultants and is distinct from the King James IV Professorship.

Opening for Applications: TBC February / March 2017

For further information contact Cathy McCartney: c.mccartney@rcsed.ac.uk or +44 131 527 1618

Sushruta Guha Professorship in Plastic Surgery and Wound Healing

The Sushruta-Guha Lecture was established in 2012, in collaboration with Professor Somes Guha, BAPRAS and the Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh

The Sushruta Guha Professorship has been established to recognise a distinguished scholar in Plastic Surgery and Wound Healing. The scholastic work is presented at a summer meeting of the BAPRAS.

Past Sushruta-Guha Awardees



Title of Lecture


David Herndon

The Molecular response of white blood cells, muscle and fat to massive burn, insights into the host response to injury and sepsis


S Milner 

The 90% burn: lessons learned 


G Burget 

Three artistic principles for reconstruction of the nose 


D A McGrouther 



R Sabapathy 

Pushing the boundaries in limb salvage following trauma 


back to top of page