We use cookies to track usage and optimise user experience. By continuing to browse and use the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies.

Dental Council

Dental Executive

  • Professor William P Saunders - Dean
  • Dr Sarah L Manton - Vice Dean
  • Professor Fraser McDonald - Convener of Dental Examinations
  • Professor Elizabeth S Davenport - Honorary Secretary
  • Dr Brian R Nattress - Convener of Dental Education (and Member of Dental Council)
  • Dean of the Dental Faculty

    Prof William Saunders

    Professor William Saunders is Professor of Endodontology at the University of Dundee and Honorary Consultant in Restorative Dentistry. He is in his third term on Dental Council and was Chairman of the Speciality Advisory Board in Restorative Dentistry from 2005-12. He sits on the College International Strategy Committee as the Dental Council Representative.

  • Vice-Dean

    Dr Sarah L Manton

    Dr Sarah L Manton is a Consultant/Honorary Senior Lecturer in Restorative and Special Care Dentistry in Dundee. She has been Regional Adviser for Tayside, is Chair of the Specialist Advisory Board in Oral Medicine and Special Care Dentistry and is serving her second term on Council.

  • Secretary

    Prof Elizabeth S Davenport

    Professor Elizabeth S Davenport holds a Chair in Dental Education at Queen Mary University of London and is a specialist paediatric dentist. She is a Fellow of the Dental Faculty, without examination since 2003. She served on the Dental Care Professionals SAB (1996-2001), was the Dental Examinations Convener (2006-2009) and for a short period (2009) co-chair College QA committee before election to Dental Council in 2009.

  • Convener of Dental Examinations

    Prof Fraser McDonald

    Professor Fraser McDonald holds a Chair in Orthodontics in Relation to Oral Biology at King's College London and is an Honorary Consultant in Orthodontics. He is a Fellow of the Dental Faculty, without examination, since 1998 and was appointed the James IV Professor of the College in 2002.

  • Dental Council

    Dr Dirk Bister

    Dr Dirk Bister is a Consultant Orthodontist at Guy's and St Thomas' Hospitals, London. His major interests are treatment of Hypodontia and teaching. He has been on the SAB for Dental Care Professionals since 2009 and was elected to Dental Council in 2012. ChateRobert Chate is a consultant orthodontist in Colchester and has been a Fellow of the Faculty since 1980. Between 2005-08 he served as a Regional Dental Adviser for the East of England, then as the Secretary of Dental Council between 2008-11 and as its Vice Dean from 2011-14.


    Mr Robert A C Chate

    Mr Robert C Chate is a consultant orthodontist in Colchester and has been a Fellow of the Faculty since 1980. Between 2005-08 he served as a Regional Dental Adviser for the East of England, then as the Secretary of Dental Council between 2008-11 and as its Vice Dean from 2011-14.

  • Prof Helen Craddock

    Professor Helen Craddock has held several senior roles in Dental Education in both English and Scottish universities and is a Specialist in Restorative Dentistry. Helen is Emeritus Professor in Dental Education at the University of Aberdeen. Both her Fellowship in Restorative Dentistry and Membership in Prosthodontics are with the College and she is an examiner for MFDS and MRD in Prosthodontics.

  • Professor Grant T McIntyre

    Professor Grant T McIntyre is Consultant Orthodontist at Dundee Dental Hospital. He holds the additional role of Enhanced Appraiser at NHS Tayside, Chaired NHS Tayside Integrated Dental Services Management Team from 2010-2011 and was Lead Consultant Orthodontist of the North of Scotland Regional Orthodontic Managed Clinical Network from 2008–2011.

  • Mr William S McLaughlin

    Mr William S McLaughlin is Hospital Dental Tutor (All Specialties) for Wales, Chairs the Welsh Restorative Dentistry Advisory Group and is Clinical Lead for Restorative Dentistry at Cardiff Dental Hospital. He was Clinical Director for Cardiff Dental Hospital from 2010-2011.

  • Prof Alex Milosevic

    Prof Alex Milosevic is a Consultant and clinical lead in Restorative Dentistry at Liverpool. Tooth wear and erosion are his main research interests with over 50 publications focussed on epidemiology, risk factors and restoration survival. He enjoys teaching and has lectured extensively across the UK and overseas.

  • Dr Brian Nattress

    Dr Brian R Nattress is a Senior Lecturer in Restorative Dentistry at the Leeds Dental Institute and Associate Postgraduate Dental Dean for the Yorkshire and Humber Deanery. He serves as the Regional Dental Adviser for Yorkshire and sits on the Speciality Advisory Board in Restorative Dentistry.

  • Dr Donald J Thomson

    Dr Donald J Thomson is a Consultant in Dental and Maxillofacial Radiology. He is Appraiser for Consultant and non Consultant Grade staff and has additional responsibility for the implementation of Ionising Radiation Regulations.

  • Members' Representative

    Mr Simon Wardle

    Mr Simon Wardle is an Orthodontic Specialist Practitioner and Consultant Orthodontist. He is a Member of the East of England Area Team Managed Clinical Network and is an Examiner for the MFDS RCPS.

  • Ex-officio

    Dr David Felix

    Dr David Felix is the Postgraduate Dental Dean Representative, who is an ex-officio member of Dental Council. He is Postgraduate Dental Dean for Scotland and currently Vice Chair of the Committee of Postgraduate Dental Deans (UK). He was elected to Dental Council in 1999 serving as Secretary from 1999 - 2005 and subsequently Dean of the Dental Faculty 2008 - 2011.

  • Lay Representative

    Wing Commander Robert Wright

    Wing Commander Robert Wright.


Dental Examinations Committee

Convener of Dental Examinations

Professor Fraser McDonald

Deputy Convener of Dental Examinations

Mr Will McLaughlin


Dr Cate Brown

Mr Ian Corbett

Dr Sarah L Manton

Dr Toby J Gillgrass

Mrs Margaret Ross

Dr Shakeel Shahdad

Professor J Mark Thomason

back to top of page