RCSEd Fellows and Members Celebrated in New Year Honours List

« View all News items
09 Jan 2023

The 2023 New Year Honours list recognises the achievements and service of extraordinary people across the UK, and we’re incredibly proud that some of our Members and Fellows were included in this historic list.

Andrew Kent, Deputy Chair of our Faculty of Remote, Rural and Humanitarian Healthcare, was awarded an OBE for services to UK health support overseas, particularly in Ukraine, and during the COVID-19 pandemic.  Andrew is a Trauma and Orthopaedic Surgeon at Raigmore Hospital in Inverness, Surgical Director at UK-Med, and Medical Advisor at Halo Trust. 

Ewen M Harrison, Member of RCSEd’s Global Surgery Committee and Professor of Surgery and Data Science at the University of Edinburgh, was awarded an OBE for services to the Covid-19 response. 

Ross Hemingway, Member of RCSEd’s Faculty of Pre-Hospital Care and Civilian Medical Practitioner, Commando Training Centre Royal Marines was awarded an OBE For services to the Royal Marines.

Helen Margaret Sweetland, Fellow of RCSEd and Emeritus Clinical Professor at Cardiff University’s School of Medicine, was awarded an OBE for services to Patient Care and Medical Education.

Jacqueline Taylor, Honorary Surgical Fellow of RCSEd, was awarded an MBE for services to Medical Education and to Health.  Jacqueline dedicated 38 years of service to the NHS, spending over 25 years as a consultant physician, and was President of the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Glasgow until December 2021.

We’d like to congratulate all those who were recognised on these truly deserved accolades and thank them for their incredible efforts and service. 

back to top of page