We use cookies to track usage and optimise user experience. By continuing to browse and use the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies.

UK Medal of the Faculty of Dental Surgery Awarded to Professor Bill Saunders

« View all News items
04 Sep 2019

The UK Medal of the Faculty of Dental Surgery of the Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh was awarded to past Dental Dean Professor Bill Saunders at one of the College’s prestigious diploma ceremonies on Friday 30 August 2019. Each medal is awarded to dentists or others who have made a distinguished contribution to the Faculty, College and dentistry.

Professor Saunders, who was awarded the inaugural Scottish Dental Lifetime achievement award in 2012 and an Honorary FRCSEd in 2018, was nominated by Dr Howard Moody, a distinguished Oral and Forensic Pathologist and Past Vice Dental Dean.

Commenting on receiving the Medal, Professor Saunders said:

“I am absolutely delighted to receive this unexpected award. Serving as Dental Dean at RCSEd was the pinnacle of my career as an academic dentist.”

Professor Saunders has been associated with the College for 37 years. He served three terms on Dental Council and was the Chair of the Specialty Advisory Board for Restorative Dentistry for 6 years, serving on the Board for 15 years.

He graduated in 1971 from the Royal Dental Hospital in London where he showed early leadership skills and was elected the Student President. Following graduation, he was commissioned as a Dental Officer in the RAF and served for 5 years before working in practice as an associate and principal until 1981 when he studied for a PhD and became the first clinical academic to complete formal Higher Specialist Training in Restorative Dentistry. In 1988 he became a Senior Lecturer in clinical practice in Glasgow leading to becoming a Personal Chair in 1993 and the first UK Chair in Endodontology in 1995 and then became Dean of Dundee Dental School 2000-2011, chairing Dental Schools Council from 2008-2011. He was elected RCSEd Dental Dean 2014-2017.

back to top of page