We use cookies to track usage and optimise user experience. By continuing to browse and use the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies.

Council Election Results Announced

« View all News items
30 Aug 2019

After a recent ballot of the College’s Members and Fellows, the College is pleased to announce the following appointments to Council:

  • Clare McNaught (re-elected)
  • Ian Hawthorn (re-elected)
  • Zahid Raza (re-elected)
  • Chris Caddy
  • Phil Turner

Clare McNaught, Ian Hawthorn and Zahid Raza will serve for five-year terms as part of their re-election.

Sai Vitall and Simon Frostick are demitting from Council after serving a one-year and five-year term respectively. 

Mr Chris Caddy is a Consultant Plastic, Reconstructive and Aesthetic Surgeon and Honorary Senior Lecturer, Sheffield Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust. An Edinburgh graduate with an international training in South Africa, Australia and USA. His interests include education and training, leadership and quality improvement. He is a Fellows Representative on the Advisory Board, Faculty of Surgical Trainers and a Fellow of the Academy of Medical Educators. He is involved with NOTSS training, FLOW and individual coaching.


Professor Phil Turner
is President of the British Orthopaedic Association (2018-2019) and has been a Consultant Orthopaedic Surgeon based at Stepping Hill Hospital, Stockport, UK since 1990. He has previously been the North West Orthopaedic Training Programme Director, Head of the HENW School of Surgery, Chair of the Confederation of Post-Graduate Schools of Surgery and Chair of the BOA Training Standards and Curriculum Committee. He has been involved in surgical education throughout his career and has been the Chair of the IQA Committee of the Joint Committee on Intercollegiate Examinations. He was awarded the Fellowship of the Faculty of Surgical Trainers of the RCS Edinburgh in 2016.

back to top of page